2022 McNair Scholars Fall Research Assembly

The 2022 McNair Fall Research Assembly will take place on Friday September 2nd, 2022, from 1 - 3:00 pm, in the Jade Ballroom of the Union Building. 

The event may be adjusted, rescheduled or canceled based upon the current community health concerns. 

The purpose of the assembly is for McNair Scholars to present their final research project presentations to faculty, staff, guests, friends and family in a formal setting, gaining valuable experience, highlighting the skills, knowledge, and expertise gained alongside their mentors. This summer they were expected to conduct research under the guidance of UNT faculty.  Though both the scholars and the faculty have had to overcome many obstacles due to COVID-19 and its impact on their lives, they have not only met the program’s expectations despite the difficulties, but have in fact exceeded them.  

The scholars could not have done the excellent work they did this past summer without the guidance and support of their faculty mentors. Under difficult circumstances, the mentors guided their students’ research and provided the training that is essential for success in graduate study applications. Sincere thanks go to the following 22 faculty members:





Dr. April Becker


Valerie Rojas

Dr. Kelly Berthiaume


Melanie Carrera-Flores

Dr. Courtney Cecale Biology Lydia Vinson
Dr. David Cicero Psychology Kaetlin Marsh
Dr. Zaccheaus Compson Ecology Joyradyn James-Rollins
Dr. Jessica Craig Psychology Jacklyn Perez
Dr. Joanna Davis-McElligatt Psychology Stephanie Villagomez
Dr. Brittany Frieson Early Childhood Education Fallon Buckner
Dr. Devin Garofalo English Literature and Economics Alaia Snell
Dr. Kerry Goldmann Psychology Omotolani Ahmed

Dr. Daphne Harris


Joshua Duron

Dr. Daniel Heiman

Teacher Education and Administration

Maria Ortega

Dr. Pudur Jagadeeswaran


Heather Harter

Dr. Martinque Jones


Alia Jones

Dr. Boji P.W. Lam

Audiology and Speech Language Pathology

Julie Olivares

Dr. David Molina


Tyson Rodriguez

Dr. Peter Mondelli

Music Composition

Beige Cowell

Dr. Karisma Morton

Teacher Education and Administration

Sumaya Mohammed

Dr. Anthony Ryals


Luke Boyce

Dr. Michael L. Thompson

Philosophy and Religion

William Zamudio

Dr. Chiachih DC Wang


Olivia Gorena

Lilli Xiang

Dr. Haley Zettler

Criminal Justice

Nicholas Durham


We invite you to view the 2020 McNair Scholars’ presentations through the gallery link below. Each poster is available via pdf, and the recorded presentation is on our YouTube channel.  New 2022 posters will be uploaded after the event.

2020 Fall Research Assembly Poster Gallery